What is the enneagram and the U R Pure Potential?

The 9 Paths to Success are descriptions of nine personality types seen on the diagram or map below. This illustration is often referred to as the Enneagram.

This map identifies nine life strategies, each distinct. It is a powerful and dynamic system. Each of these nine strategies has unique thinking, feeling, and behaving characteristics as well as a distinct way of viewing itself as part of a greater whole.

Although each strategy is unique, all individuals have some traits of each of these types. The map provides a truly holistic approach to understanding the human experience because each of these strategies are characterized by a somatic style, cognitive-emotional habits, and a likely way of seeing themselves as part of the greater human experience.

The 9 Paths as a Recovery Tool

The map of the 9 Paths is also know as the enneagram and is a diagram of the nine distinct personalities. The study of these nine
distinct personalities is very old with ancient roots in many spiritual traditions.

Recently, the study of the enneagram has grown in usefulness in health, wellness, and business as well as a route to greater spiritual
understanding. Because of its usefulness in all of these areas, it is a great tool for those in recovery seeking to understand and make
changes in their lives.

There are nine personality types on the map of the enneagram and each of us has one of these distinct types. We have developed this
type to manage our life circumstances including our thoughts, feelings, and behaviors.

The enneagram is growing in popularity as a useful recovery tool. By understanding our own type and how we think, feel, and behave,
we grow self-awareness of these patterns. These patterns of thinking, feeling, and behaving have been adopted to assist each of us in
managing our lives.

Each pattern has both assets and opportunities for growth. By working on ourselves, we grow to understand that our personality is not
bad or good. As we grow self-awareness, we can step back and evaluate how these patterns both serve us and hinder us.

After using the enneagram with hundreds of persons impacted by addictions, it is clear to me that it is:

  • Holistic
  • Shame-Reducing
  • Compatible With the 12 Steps
  • Increases Self-Awareness and  Tolerance
  • Helps People Move Through Conflict
  • Applies to all Stages of Recovery

Because the 9 paths can be useful in all stages of recovery and it works well both with the 12 steps and can stand alone, all those impacted by addictions can find some utility in using the 9 paths.

Statements Describing the Personalities of Each of the Nine Types

Type One: The Perfectionist

Believes you must be good and right to be worthy. Consequently, Perfectionists are
conscientious, responsible, improvement-oriented, and self-controlled, but also can be
critical, resentful, and self-judging.

Type Two: The Giver

Believes you must give fully to others to be loved. Consequently, Givers are caring,
helpful, supportive, and relationship-oriented, but also can be prideful, overly intrusive,
and demanding.

Type Three: The Performer

Believes you must accomplish and succeed to be loved. Consequently, Performers are industrious, fast-paced, goal-focused, and
efficiency-oriented, but also can be inattentive to feelings, impatient, and image-driven.

Type Four: The Romantic

Believes you must obtain the longed for ideal relationship or situation to be loved. Consequently, Romantics are idealistic, deeply
feeling, empathetic, authentic to self, but also dramatic, moody, and sometimes self-absorbed.

Type Five: The Observer

Believes you must protect yourself from a world that demands too much and gives too
little to assure life. Consequently, Observers are self-sufficiency-seeking, non-
demanding, analytical/thoughtful, and unobtrusive, but also can be withholding,
detached, and overly private.

Type Six: The Loyal Skeptic

Believes you must gain protection and security in a hazardous world you just can’t trust. Consequently, Loyal Skeptics are themselves trustworthy, inquisitive, good friends, and questioning, but can also be overly doubtful, accusatory, and fearful.

Type Seven: The Epicure

Believes you must keep life up and open to assure a good life. Consequently, Epicures are optimistic, upbeat, seeking options, pleasure-
seeking, and adventurous, but also can be pain avoidant, uncommitted, and self-serving.

Type Eight: The Protector

Believes you must be strong and powerful to assure protection and regards in a tough world. Consequently, Protectors are justice-
seeking, direct, strong, and action-oriented, but also overly impactful, excessive, and sometimes intimidating.

Type Nine: The Mediator

Believes to be loved and valued, you must blend in and go along to get along. Consequently, Mediators are self-forgetting, harmony-seeking, comfortable, and steady, but also conflict-avoidant and sometimes stubborn.

Believes to be loved and valued, you must blend in and go along to get along. Consequently, Mediators are self-forgetting, harmony-seeking, comfortable, and steady, but also conflict-avoidant and sometimes stubborn.

Whether using the 9 Paths personally or professionally or both, the benefits continue to unfold. If you’d like a complimentary consultation to discuss your personal or professional needs and or goals, please email me to set up a time at renee@9paths.com.